Truist

Truist is a national bank formed from the merger of BB&T and SunTrust. It offers two home equity products: a variable-rate line of credit and a fixed-rate lump sum loan. It is actively taking applications for both.

The line of credit has a ten year draw period followed by a twenty year repayment period, and is priced against the Wall Street Journal Prime Rate. Truist publishes two separate rate ranges for it. One is the standard range, from Prime plus 0.25% to Prime plus 6.85%. The other is a promotional rate available only to applications received by 31 August 2026 and closed by 31 October 2026, on lines between $15,000 and $1,000,000. They are recorded here as two sets of terms rather than blended into one, because the promotional rate expires and the standard one does not.

Three things about Truist are unusual enough to be worth saying before you read the figures. Its maximum rate depends on where the property is: 16% in North Carolina and 18% in a list of seventeen other named states, with nothing published for anywhere else. Its $50 annual fee applies in nine named states and nowhere Truist mentions. And a balance can be moved onto a fixed rate at any time for a $15 set-up fee, priced independently of the line, from 6.94% to 14.83% APR.

Truist does not publish a maximum combined loan-to-value ratio for either product, and does not publish a minimum credit score. Its page does contain a general line about what lenders typically allow. That is industry background, not a Truist limit, and it is not recorded here as one. It does publish where the line of credit is available: its FAQ names nineteen states and the District of Columbia is among them. Do not confuse that list with the two others on this page. A separate list of eighteen states governs the maximum APR, and a list of nine governs the annual fee. Mississippi appears on the availability list and on neither of the other two. Truist publishes no state list at all for the Home Equity Loan.

The Home Equity Loan record below will look almost empty. That is the finding. Truist originates the product but publishes no rate, no loan amount, no term length and no fee for it anywhere on its product page.

Truist home equity products at a glance

Last checked: August 26, 2026

Truist Home Equity Line of Credit

HELOC

A variable-rate home equity line of credit tied to the Wall Street Journal Prime Rate, with a ten year draw period followed by a twenty year repayment period. Truist prices it from Prime plus 0.25% to Prime plus 6.85%, and caps the rate at 16% in North Carolina and 18% in a list of other named states. A separate promotional rate is offered for a limited application window. Balances can be placed on a fixed rate for a set-up fee. There is a $50 annual fee in nine named states, closing costs quoted as a range up to $10,000, and a requirement to repay any closing costs Truist paid if the line is closed within three years. Truist publishes the nineteen states its collateral may sit in, and separately caps the rate in eighteen states and charges the annual fee in nine. Those are three different lists. It does not publish a maximum CLTV or a minimum credit score for this product.

  • Fixed or variable rate Variable, with a fixed rate option on part of the balance
  • Draw period 10 years (120 months)
  • Repayment period 20 years (240 months)
  • Borrowing range $15,000 to $1,000,000 (conditions apply)
  • Annual fee $50 Charged only in the nine states Truist names. Truist states: "There is a $50 annual fee in AL, AR, CA, FL, GA, IN, KY, NJ, and OH." It does not say what applies elsewhere, so no claim is made about other states.

A time-limited promotional rate, not a standing one. Truist states it "is valid for approved applications received through 8/31/26 and closed by 10/31/26 for a Truist home equity credit line amount of $15,000 up to $1,000,000." It lasts "9 months after the date of account opening" and is "not available on fixed-rate advances." After the promotional period ends, the standard variable terms on the base record apply to both the remaining promotional balance and any new advances.

The lender also states: "Standard APRs are variable during the 10-year draw period and 20-year repayment period and apply only to the variable rate option; are based on your collateral property location, credit line amount, combined Loan-To-Value (CLTV) ratio and other factors." The maximum rate is capped by state: "The maximum APR is 16% for properties located in NC and 18% for properties located in AR, CA, FL, GA, TN, AL, SC, VA, MD, DC, WV, IN, KY, NJ, OH, PA, or TX." Truist does not say what the maximum is anywhere else. On qualifying: "Excellent credit is required to qualify for the lowest rates. At least 50% of booked applicants applying for the advertised rate qualified for the advertised rate based on data from 1/1/25 – 12/24/25." On repayment: "During the 20-year repayment period for this option, the APR will continue to be calculated at a variable rate and your minimum monthly payment will be 1/240th of the total balance at the end of the draw period, plus interest and any applicable fees/charges." On closing costs: "Rates will vary if the client chooses for the bank to pay their closing costs, which is an option in some states if the requested loan amount is less than or equal to $500,000." Truist does not list which states. On eligible property, from its Home Equity Loan page: "HELOCs and HELOANs are available for owner-occupied, single-family, primary and secondary residences. Certain property type restrictions apply." From Truist's own HELOC FAQ, on collateral: "A home equity line from Truist can be secured by an owner-occupied, single-family, primary residence, second home or condominium located in AL, AR, CA, DC, FL, GA, IN, KY, MD, MS, NC, NJ, OH, PA, SC, TN, TX, VA, WV, and is not valid using investment homes, mobile or manufactured homes, or cooperatives. Truist must be in a valid first- or second-lien position. Applicants must occupy the second home a minimum of 14 days per calendar year, and there is a limit of one home equity line from Truist per individual or joint borrower. Other restrictions may apply." On valuation, from the same FAQ: "An approved home valuation is always required for a HELOC. The valuation method required depends on the request; valuation methods used are appraisal, evaluation, or automated valuation." Note that three different state lists appear on this lender and they are three different facts: the nineteen states above are where the collateral may be located, the eighteen states in the rate disclosure govern the maximum APR, and the nine states in the fee record govern the annual fee. Mississippi, for instance, is on the availability list and on neither of the others.

The lender also states: "Fixed-rate options are priced based on creditworthiness, amount and term selected, will vary from your home equity line variable rate or any promotional rate and can range from 6.94% APR to 14.83% APR." Terms available are "5, 10, 15 or 20 years and 30 years taken at time of closing with initial draw", so the thirty year term is only available if taken at closing with the first draw. "Max of 5 fixed-rate draws open at one time. Draw minimum $5,000." The promotional introductory rate does not apply to fixed-rate advances.

The lender also states, where borrowing from $15,000, borrowing up to $1,000,000: "Offer not available on fixed-rate advances. Offer subject to change without notice." The lowest advertised rate is not generally available: "Excellent credit is required to qualify for the lowest rates." The minimum and maximum amounts recorded here are the promotional offer's own eligibility range and are not a statement of the smallest or largest line Truist will write outside this offer.

Sources checked: August 26, 2026

Reviewed by Michael Yanda

Last reviewed: August 30, 2026

How we produce these figures: methodology and data standards

Detailed terms

Standard terms the lender states these figures applied from July 1, 2026. We checked its page on August 26, 2026.

State availability
Alabama, Arkansas, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia
Eligible property types
Condominium, Single-Family Detached
Occupancy requirements
Primary Residence, Second Home
APR or rate
7% to 13.6% a dated reading, not shown as current
Fixed or variable rate
Variable, with a fixed rate option on part of the balance
Draw period
10 years (120 months)
Repayment period
20 years (240 months)
Appraisal or valuation
Varies by case

Applies when: Applies to balances placed on the fixed-rate option rather than to the line as a whole. Truist states: "A fixed-rate option may be available on all or portions of your line." A line can carry both a variable balance under the standard terms and one or more fixed-rate balances under these.

APR or rate
6.94% to 14.83%
Fixed or variable rate
Fixed for each draw, set when the draw is taken

Applies when: borrowing from $15,000, borrowing up to $1,000,000

Minimum borrowing amount
$15,000
Maximum borrowing amount
$1,000,000
APR or rate
5.24% to 11.84% a dated reading, not shown as current
Introductory or promotional APR
5.24% a dated reading, not shown as current
Fixed or variable rate
Variable

Fees

Annual fee
$50 Charged only in the nine states Truist names. Truist states: "There is a $50 annual fee in AL, AR, CA, FL, GA, IN, KY, NJ, and OH." It does not say what applies elsewhere, so no claim is made about other states.
Closing and origination costs
$0 to $10,000 A range rather than a figure, and Truist says it varies by state. Truist also offers to pay these costs itself in some cases: "Rates will vary if the client chooses for the bank to pay their closing costs, which is an option in some states if the requested loan amount is less than or equal to $500,000." Truist does not list which states, and taking that option changes the rate. See also the early closure charge.
Repayment of closing costs on early closure
Varies Applies if the line is closed within three years of origination, and only where Truist paid closing costs on the borrower's behalf. The amount is whatever Truist paid, which it does not publish, so no figure is recorded here.
Fixed option set up fee
$15 Charged when a balance is placed on the fixed-rate option. Up to five fixed-rate draws can be open at once, so this can be charged more than once on the same line.
Information we could not verify publicly 4

We could not confirm the following in the lender's published materials. That does not mean no requirement exists, so ask the lender directly if you need one of these figures.

  • Maximum CLTV
  • Maximum LTV
  • Minimum credit score
  • Maximum debt to income
Source & evidence source: lender · checked August 26, 2026 · researched by Chris, our AI research agent · reviewed by Michael Yanda
Truist HELOC, standard variable terms

Lender product page: view the page we read. Checked August 26, 2026.

Read by: Chris, EquityBankLoan AI Research Agent

Additional sources: https://www.truist.com/loans/home-equity-loan

Rate and index: "The Prime Rate means the highest per annum “Prime Rate” of interest published from time to time by The Wall Street Journal in its “Money Rates” listings, which was 6.75% as of 7/1/2026. Standard APRs are variable during the 10-year draw period and 20-year repayment period and apply only to the variable rate option; are based on your collateral property location, credit line amount, combined Loan-To-Value (CLTV) ratio and other factors; and can range from Prime + 0.25% (currently 7.00% APR) to Prime + 6.85% (currently 13.60% APR)." The effective date recorded here is Truist's own date for the index value, 1 July 2026, not the date this page was read. The state availability, property type and valuation facts on this record come from the FAQ published on the same Truist page, read 26 August 2026. They were recorded as not published when this record was created, which was wrong: the FAQ was there and was not searched.
Truist HELOC, fixed-rate option

Conditions: Applies to balances placed on the fixed-rate option rather than to the line as a whole. Truist states: "A fixed-rate option may be available on all or portions of your line." A line can carry both a variable balance under the standard terms and one or more fixed-rate balances under these.

Lender product page: view the page we read. Checked August 26, 2026.

Read by: Chris, EquityBankLoan AI Research Agent

"Variable-rate repayment is based on WSJ Prime Rate + margin. Minimum payment consists of accrued interest, fees, and other charges. A fixed-rate option may be available on all or portions of your line. Fixed-rate options are priced based on creditworthiness, amount and term selected, will vary from your home equity line variable rate or any promotional rate and can range from 6.94% APR to 14.83% APR. There is a $15 fixed option set up fee. Fixed-rate/fixed-repayments term for 5, 10, 15 or 20 years and 30 years taken at time of closing with initial draw. Max of 5 fixed-rate draws open at one time. Draw minimum $5,000." No total term is recorded because Truist publishes a set of choices rather than one term, and the record has one field for it.
Truist HELOC, special introductory rate

Conditions: A time-limited promotional rate, not a standing one. Truist states it "is valid for approved applications received through 8/31/26 and closed by 10/31/26 for a Truist home equity credit line amount of $15,000 up to $1,000,000." It lasts "9 months after the date of account opening" and is "not available on fixed-rate advances." After the promotional period ends, the standard variable terms on the base record apply to both the remaining promotional balance and any new advances.

Lender product page: view the page we read. Checked August 26, 2026.

Read by: Chris, EquityBankLoan AI Research Agent

"The Special Introductory Rate is a variable rate made up of a discounted margin plus the variable Prime rate and is in effect for 9 months after the date of account opening (“the Promotional Period”) and is valid for approved applications received through 8/31/26 and closed by 10/31/26 for a Truist home equity credit line amount of $15,000 up to $1,000,000. Any variable advances taken during the Promotional Period shall accrue interest at the Special Introductory Rate up until the expiration of the Promotional Period. The Special Introductory Rate ranges from Prime minus 1.51% (currently 5.24% APR) to Prime + 5.09% (currently 11.84% APR)." The 5.24% figure recorded as the introductory APR is the bottom of that range, which is the rate Truist advertises at the top of the page as "Special Introductory Rate as low as Prime minus 1.51% for 9 months from the date of account opening. Currently 5.24% APR." It is the best case, not a typical one.

Truist Home Equity Loan

Home Equity Loan

A fixed-rate lump sum home equity loan. Truist is actively taking applications for it, but publishes no rate, no loan amount, no term length, no maximum loan-to-value and no minimum credit score on its product page. What it does publish is that the loan is available for owner-occupied single-family primary and secondary residences, that products are not available in certain states, and that the amount is subject to maximum loan-to-value and combined loan-to-value ratios it does not state. This record exists so that the gap is visible rather than silent.

  • Fixed or variable rate Fixed

The lender also states: "Products not available in certain states. Credit criteria, exclusions, and limitations apply. Property insurance is required and, if applicable, flood insurance will be required. Additional restrictions apply. Please ask your banker or loan officer for details." On loan-to-value: "HELOAN and HELOC loan amount is subject to max loan-to-value (LTV) and total combined loan-to-value ratios." Truist does not state what those ratios are. On eligibility: "HELOCs and HELOANs are available for owner-occupied, single-family, primary and secondary residences. Certain property type restrictions apply." No rate, loan amount, term length, minimum credit score, maximum LTV or fee is published anywhere on this page.

Detailed terms

Standard terms we checked the lender's page on August 26, 2026.

Eligible property types
Single-Family Detached our interpretation
Occupancy requirements
Primary Residence, Second Home
Fixed or variable rate
Fixed
Information we could not verify publicly 13

We could not confirm the following in the lender's published materials. That does not mean no requirement exists, so ask the lender directly if you need one of these figures.

  • State availability
  • Minimum borrowing amount
  • Maximum borrowing amount
  • APR or rate
  • Introductory or promotional APR
  • Maximum CLTV
  • Maximum LTV
  • Minimum credit score
  • Maximum debt to income
  • Draw period
  • Repayment period
  • Fees
  • Appraisal or valuation
Source & evidence source: lender · checked August 26, 2026 · researched by Chris, our AI research agent · reviewed by Michael Yanda
Truist Home Equity Loan, published terms

Lender product page: view the page we read. Checked August 26, 2026.

Read by: Chris, EquityBankLoan AI Research Agent

Rate type, from the product page: "A Home Equity Loan (HELOAN) may help you cover major expenses with predictable, fixed-rate payments" and the benefit heading "Fixed rates. Know exactly what you'll pay each month, so you can budget precisely." The product is currently being originated: the page carries an active "Apply now" link and the line "Apply online, in person, or by phone at 855-214-0633." Everything else on this record is recorded as not published because the page states no figures at all.
What these terms mean
CLTV, combined loan to value
Everything secured against the property, added together, divided by the property value. A maximum CLTV of 85% on a $500,000 home means the first mortgage plus the new borrowing cannot exceed $425,000.
LTV, loan to value
The same idea for a single loan rather than the combined total.
Draw period and repayment period
The draw period is when you can take money out. When it ends, the repayment period begins, you can no longer draw, and payments are often significantly higher.
Our interpretation
A figure we worked out from what the lender published, rather than a number the lender states outright.

Our guide to how a HELOC works explains these in more depth.

About this information

Financial data is based on information published by the lender. Important conditions that affect a rate, limit, or other figure are shown with that information. We identify values we have interpreted or calculated rather than treating them as directly published by the lender.

We are not a bank, a lender or a broker, we have no relationship with the lenders listed here, and this is not a recommendation. Terms change. Always confirm directly with the lender before applying.